Index
Next Thread
Print Thread
Go To
User Showcase
Expert
OP Offline
Expert
I couldn't resist adding "The Best of", but since it's our only one together I suppose it's "The Worst of" too. I was fortunate enough to have David approach me over a year ago with the offer of doing a co-write. He has showed tremendous patience because life has been so busy I've not had any time for music. I finally sat down and put down some ideas We teamed up on the lyrics, but the melody is almost entirely his work. This is my first attempt at using the Ozone mastering tool as well, so any comments (good or bad) are certainly appreciated. It's been great working with David, and another great aspect of using this forum. I hope to catch up with all of your music soon as well.

Another Whiskey Song

You can always find me at my favorite local bar
wearing out a barstool underneath the neon stars.
‘Cause though that woman’s gone, she’s left her memory here behind.
And now, I’m holding on by trying to drink her off my mind.
I’m just sitting in the corner with the cigarette smoke
reliving my old memories, broken dreams and shattered hope.
Though I’ve had three or four I always want, ‘Just one more’
‘til I stagger out the door, you’ll know just what I’m waiting for

‘ Cause I’m sitting here once again with a drinking glass and listenin’
to songs of pain, tears and rain, loneliness and all it brings.
And, if it takes me all night long, I’ll stay in here and drink ‘till dawn.
‘Til the pain is finally gone and her memory leaves
So when the band takes requests, they know the words that I’ll say next
are “Give me one more whiskey and another whiskey song.”

When I get feeling low, this is where I feel at home
Just me and my poison and those back road break up songs
It happens every time. She’s always preying on my mind.
No matter where I go her memory follows close behind.
And, all I want it seems is a choir of broken dreams,
one more shot of gasoline and to join them as they sing