#219174 10/26/13 11:39 AM
Band-in-a-Box for Windows
O
oggy Offline OP
Enthusiast
OP Offline
Enthusiast
O
I'm experiencing unpredictable results from my audio drivers and need some advice. PG tech service has gotten me this far but they predicted problems. I think I'm puzzled by the fundamentals of this topic and am hindered by a simplistic view of digital audio. I do want to understand what is happening as much as I want it to work. I'm an electrician and am familiar with wire run lists and schematics but everything about this topic seems to be explained with pages of text. An animated .gif loop would probably explain it better to me.
I have this USB soundbar connected to a usb hub. The sound quality is an improvement over the laptop's speakers but it has no 1/8'' plug. The hub's power save settings have been disabled and the whole laptop is optimized for performance. I have a usb midi controller M-audio 49 keystudio connected to the hub also. This setup has allowed me to enter melody notes with the midi keyboard but with irregular success.
One of the unpredictable symptoms is all the WDM devices will be unavailable sometimes when I reopen BB. Closing all other applications doesn't fix this but restarting BB will sometimes fix it. OR if they are available they will be idle. Or they are available but they will be off. But I haven't made any settings changes. Then the midi keyboard will not send data until I play a song. Then the midi keyboard will play the thru patch sound but I haven't changed any settings. And notice that 2 ASIO4all buttons are in the lower bar. Only one will open...and even though the soundbar is checked unavailable it will sometimes still play sound but the keyboard still won't send data.