Go To
#825139 10/08/24 04:10 AM
Band-in-a-Box for Windows
B
Enthusiast
OP Offline
Enthusiast
B
How do you tell if a plugin is a VST or DXi ?

Soundiron Emotional Piano is a case in point.

I've gone to the install folder and documentation and nary a mention of which it is or a "VSTi" in sight. Ditto the website.

It plays in Kontakt 5 player so I'm assuming its a VST2 which BIAB should play. In my naivete I used to think Kontakt only played VSTi but apparently plays DXi too. So fact Emotional Piano plays in my Kontakt Player isn't dispositive that its a VST.

Could it be its a DXi which would explain why I cannot find a VST associated with it ?

Reason I'm asking and connection to BIAB is I'm trying, so far with no success, to get it to play nicely with BIAB
and can't get the VST selection in Options to see it.

I'm trying to locate all my VST2's scattered (damit) over 6 drives- told you I was a Newb). Just searching Windoze search function doesn't seem to find them all.

Thinning hair almost on fire...

Newbie Bob

Veteran
Veteran
Emotional Piano from SoundIron is a Kontakt player .nks file. Which means you must play it in Kontakt.
Emotional Piano from SoundIron has been licensed for use in the free Kontakt Player virtual instrument engine. It can be used in Kontakt Player or the full retail version of Kontakt (version 5.5.2 or later) for VST, AU or AAX instrument plugin formats. You can add this product to the Kontakt “Libraries” browser. It requires online serial number registration through the Native Instruments Service Center app.

So you need to install the Kontakt.dll file (from Kontakt 5 or 6) and then Kontakt will open in BIAB and allow you to play any .nks file you have on your computer. I showed you where the kontakt.dll file is likely hiding in another thread.
C:\Program Files\Native Instruments\VSTPlugins 64 bit\Kontakt.dll